A Simple Cleansing Addition

I enjoy cleansing my home and myself with all natural products, lovingly crafted and blended by my own hands. You could say that I am a bit of a DIY junkie, and that translates into every area of my life – even the products that I employ on a daily basis. I like the peace of mind that comes from knowing the ingredients present in each product. And it sure is nice to know that the little ones are safe when I spray away. No bottles filled with strange blue liquid to be found in our home! And yes the products are effective, smell great, and are simple to use. For a countertop and disinfectant spray, it’s as simple as: borax, baking soda, spring water, essential oils of: tea tree, lemon, eucalyptus, rosemary, cinnamon & clove. A refreshing scent! An effective cleanse! And the immuno boosting properties of the medicinal-grade essential oils is an added bonus. Our toothpaste (which we swear by and adore) consists of: diatomaceous earth, baking soda, peppermint oil, coconut oil, and xylitol. You can find a great recipe for that here. It’s incredibly whitening, brightening, and tastes minty sweet.

(Enter, the Mighty Borax. . .)

Borax

This stuff really is an all time favorite of mine. It’s naturally occurring and is a powerhouse for gently yet effectively cleansing, disinfecting & deodorizing. I had heard about sprinkling some in the bath for a skin  softening effect, and I have always noticed that my hands feel very soft after accidentally getting cleansing spray on them. But today I tried something new with this versatile white powder and am amazed with the results. While in the shower, after pumping facial cleanser into my hands (I use the Skin Brightening Cleanser by 100 Percent Pure), I added about a tablespoon of borax to my palms, incorporated it with the cleanser, and lightly scrubbed it onto my face. Upon washing, my skin felt baby soft and smooth. And the effects definitely feel sustainable. Now this may not seem like a big deal, but I have searched for a suitable exfoliating treatment for my sensitive skin type for years. Most products I encountered throughout my quest fell short. Too rough, too grainy, too stripping, not natural, “too” natural, etc. And after a decade of searching, I think I found it. Who knew it was that simple! A small tbl of borax added in! And for under $4 for 76 oz!

After my initial discovery in the shower, I then decided to add a bit to my shampoo, and the effects were equally amazing. Cleansed and pH happy hair. My hair tends to be wavy and was left more on the curly side after one shampooing with the borax. I encourage you to try this with your favorite facial cleanser and shampoo too! After cleansing the skin in this manner I finished my treatment with a small amount of homemade facial cream.

My homemade facial cream. I will gladly create this for you by request!

This is my homemade facial cream & I gladly create it for friends and family by request! Made with love from: calendula flowers and comfrey leaf I infused in apricot oil for 2 weeks in this past summer’s sun, cacao butter, argan oil, aloe vera gel, rosewater, seabuckthorn berry, rose hip seed oil, pure beeswax, essential oils of jasmine, sandalwood, rose otto & cypress. . . Smooth as a baby’s bum! Haha 🙂 That reminds me, I should add borax to the baby’s diaper change spray!

Many people in “visible” roles, “Lightworkers”, etc. suffer from skin problems along the path as a sort of “healing crisis.” As we step into our unique roles with authenticity and strength, many problems resolve themselves – As we learn to be more gentle to our selves and strong in the world. Our skin is our barrier and protection. It is the layer between our inside and outside experiences. It protects us from the elements, it allows nutrients to be delivered to our bodies. It can glow and inspire or feel dull, vulnerable, and cause us to retreat. My inspiration in posting about this simple addition today, is to encourage you to shine forth radiantly, simply, proudly. So that you may feel confident in “being seen.” We are all here with immense purpose, should we choose to be brave, and step forth in confidence. A nice affirmation to say while cleansing your precious face is: “It is safe for me to shine brightly.” Bless your beautiful self! ❤

Enjoy this simple tip! And I would love to hear about your results with and uses for borax too!

Leave a Reply

